Skip to main content

Riverlife’s Headwaters donors celebrate $500K milestone support for riverfronts

By September 25, 2014October 25th, 2016Blog

Volunteers lead historic funding campaign

On a beautiful Saturday morning on September 20th, Riverlife welcomed members of its Headwaters Circle and their families on a brunch cruise to enjoy Pittsburgh’s riverfronts from the best vantage point – on the water!  The event also had a special purpose to thank Riverlife’s  Headwaters Committee who successfully raised $500,000 from more than 70 new donors to develop a much-needed base of community support for Riverlife’s overall efforts to build Three Rivers Park.

Riverlife has been very fortunate to have gifted leadership from the beginning.  Paul O’Neill and Jim Rohr co-chaired the Headwaters campaign with the support of Committee Chair Kathy Buechel and Committee Members Carol Brown, Ellen Still Brooks, Ralph Falbo, Nancy Fales, Terry Wirginis and Maureen Young.

Riverlife’s President and CEO Lisa Schroeder also gave special thanks to members who hosted special receptions throughout the campaign. Since 2000, every dollar of Riverlife operating support has leveraged $10 invested in riverfront projects totaling $129M.  It is anticipated that the new investment of $500,000 from individual donor investors will leverage more than $5 million in additional capital for riverfront projects.  We are very grateful for the contributions made by all of our supporters.  Our work to transform Pittsburgh’s riverfronts would not be possible without them.

There are many ways to support Riverlife and no contribution is too small. For more information about how you can support the transformation of our riverfronts, please contact Rhonda Madden, Riverlife Chief Development Officer or donate directly via our secure site.

Photos, top to bottom:
– Headwaters members and Riverlife staff
– The Gateway Clipper docked near the Point State Park fountain for the celebration cruise.
– Headwaters Committee Leaders, L-R: Nancy Fales, Terry Wirginis, Ellen Still Brooks, Lisa Schroeder, committee chair Kathy Buechel, Ralph Falbo, and honorary co-chair Jim Rohr.

Leave a Reply