City Council to vote on Pittsburgh’s riverfronts. Your help is needed.

By June 27, 2018Blog

Early next week City Council is considering a vote on the “RIV” to update Pittsburgh’s riverfront zoning. The RIV was crafted by Pittsburgh City Planning after an almost two-year-long public process that included feedback from hundreds of Pittsburghers. There’s a lot to love about the RIV! Here are just a few reasons why Riverlife supports the RIV (and you should too):

  • Protects public access so EVERYONE can enjoy the riverfronts
  • Helps restore our riverfront environment
  • Preserves the unique character of Pittsburgh’s neighborhoods
  • Is a common-sense way to plan for new real estate development and growth on our riverfronts

If you’re a City of Pittsburgh resident, your council member needs to hear from you today! Write or call your council member to tell them to vote YES on the RIV:

Darlene Harris, Councilwoman District 1: 412-255-2135 / darlene.harris@pittsburghpa.gov
Theresa Kail-Smith, Councilwoman District 2: 412-255-8963 / theresa.kail-smith@pittsburghpa.gov
Bruce Kraus, Councilman District 3: 412-255-2130 / bruce.kraus@pittsburghpa.gov
Anthony Coghill, Councilman District 4: 412-255-2131 / anthony.coghill@pittsburghpa.gov
Corey O’Connor, Councilman District 5: 412-255-8965 / corey.oconnor@pittsburghpa.gov
R. Daniel Lavelle, Councilman District 6:  412-255-2134  / daniel.lavelle@pittsburghpa.gov
Deb Gross, Councilwoman District 7: 412-255-2140 / deborah.gross@pittsburghpa.gov
Erika Strassburger, Councilwoman District 8: 412-255-2133 / erika.strassburger@pittsburghpa.gov
Rev. Ricky Burgess, Councilman District 9: 412-255-2137 / reverend.burgess@pittsburghpa.gov

Unsure of your district? Enter your address here to find out.


Yes, we really need YOU to send that email or make that call today. Tell Council to vote 
YES on #RIVPGH. Thank you for your support and for keeping Pittsburgh’s riverfronts awesome.